I’m not good at writing titles.

ESPAÑOL

Hola,

Hacía mucho tiempo que tenía ganas de escribir mi propio blog sobre snail mail, pero por varias razones no lo he hecho hasta ahora. Este año tengo bastante más tiempo libre que nunca y me puedo permitir este intento (porque yo soy de esas que al principio le pone muchas ganas a algo y luego las abandona) de escribir un blog. 

Mi trayectoria como penpal ha tenido sus altibajos. Empecé a escribir cartas cuando era bastante jóven, con unos 9 años, para poder mantener el contacto con mis amigas de un campamento de verano. Me escribí bastante cartas con estas amigas durante unos 2 años, pero al final perdimos el contacto. Unos años más tarde, gracias a los forums de grupos a los que pertenecía, hice amistad con varias personas y decidimos escribirnos cartas. Sin embargo, otra vez perdí el contacto con estas personas.

No fue hasta hace poco más de 6 años cuando me propuse escribir cartas con bastante frecuencia, y a ser posible con gente de otros países, para hacer amigos fuera de España y para practicar mi inglés ya que justo acababa de entrar en la universidad a estudiar filología inglesa. Encontré un sitio llamado interpals.net y allí fue donde conocí a mis primeros penpals extranjeros. A día de hoy, 6 años más tarde, aún conservo algunos de esos penpals pero no todos. Después de unos 3 años como usuario en interpals decidí borrar mi cuenta porque no era capaz de encontrar penpals que encajaran en el tipo de penpal que yo quería; todos eran demasiado jóvenes (de unos 15 años), escribían cartas extremadamente cortas, respondían con poca frecuencia… pero de esto ya hablaré en otro momento.

Por un tiempo dejé de buscar nuevas personas con las que escribirme cartas hasta que descubrí instagram y vi lo mucho que la gente trabaja en sus cartas, justo lo que yo quería. Conseguí nuevos penpals en instagram pero, de nuevo, no lo que yo esperaba; encontré gente que sí, se molestaban en hacer sus cartas bonitas, pero que en cuestión de contenido se quedaban cortos. A lo mejor yo soy demasiado exigente, pero para mi estética y contenido en una carta son importantes casi a partes iguales (para mi el contenido sigue predominando). Decidí no buscar más penpals por el momento en instagram, pero encontré un tumblr en el cual podías poner como un “anuncio” para encontrar penpals. Yo mandé el mío, puse el tipo de características que buscaba en un penpal y estoy bastante contenta con el resultado.

Creo que ya he escrito suficiente para ser la primera entrada del blog. Espero que si alguien lee esto, lo disfrute. Confío en que seguiré escribir regularmente en el blog sobre cartas que recibo, ideas para mis cartas, proyectos y demás.

ENGLISH

Hi,

I’ve always wanted to write my own blog about snail mail. However, due to several reasons, I haven’t done it until today. This year I have so much free time compared to other years, so I have enough time to try to wrtie this blog (and I say try because I’m the kind of person who is very passionate about new stuff at the beginning, but then I get tired and give up).

As a penpal, I’ve had my ups and downs. I started writing letters when I was pretty young, like 9 years old, so that I could keep in touch with my summer camp friends. I wrote letters to these friends for about 2 years, but in the end we stopped writing. A few years later I joined some music forums, I made some friends and we sent letters to each other for a while. Eventually, we stopped writing letters.

Over 6 years ago I decided that I wanted to send letter regularly. This time I was looking for penpals from around the world, and not Spain, since I wanted to practice my English. I discovered interpals.net and thanks to that website I met people who were willing to be my penpals. 6 years later, I still write letters to some of those penpals. However, after 3 years being an interpal member I deleted my account because I couldn’t find more penpals that would fit inside the kind of penpal that I was looking for; everyone was way too young (around 15 years old), they wrote me extremely short letters, they only sent letters every two months or even more… but anyways, I’ll talk about this in another post.

I gave up looking for new penpals for a while, but then I discovered instagram. I saw how people worked really hard on their letters, and that was exactly what I wanted. I got some new penpals thanks to this social network BUT, again, it wasn’t what I expected. I did find people that made lovely envelopes and nice-looking letters, but there was a lack of effort in the content of the letter. It’s possible that I’m very demanding, but to me, the content and the “appearance” of a letter is almost equally important (though I consider the content more important). I made the decision of not trying to find more penpals on instagram for a while. Then, I found a tumblr where you could post like an ad asking for penpals. I sent mine, I wrote the kind of penpals I was interested in, and overall, I’m quite happy with the penpals I got thanks to that ad.

Ok, I think that was long enough for a first post. I hope someone reads/enjoys this. Hopefully, I will write again soon talking about my incoming and outgoing mail, some new ideas for my letter, and that stuff. Bye!

About penpalspain

23 years old. Spanish. Likes: Learning languages Travelling Crafting Writting letters Road trips! Modern Family Horror movies Harry Potter Tattoos View all posts by penpalspain

Leave a Reply

Big Notes

Share amazing stories ♥

devalayermail

Sharing creative snail mail

Hallvi's Nest

~ where small things matter

writingaletteraweek.wordpress.com/

Dedicated to sharing my passion of handwritten notes, cards and letters ...

a little bit kinder

what if the world were a little bit kinder?

